Mod Tech Top 10 – Shows on TV

This is the first in our new Top 10 articles. We will keep bringing out new Top 10 countdowns on different topics, leave a comment below if you have any suggestions for a topic you would like us to cover.

This first article is going to cover the Top 10 shows currently on TV, listed from 10-1. So without further delay…

10. Grimm

Grimm

Grimm only premiered not long ago but it has quickly become one of my favourite new shows. The fairytale background of the series doesn’t get in the way of some very adult storytelling and violence. I think the lead actors work well together, and the over arching plot that is hinted at every now and then gives you something to think about between the monster of the week format of the show.

9. How I Met Your Mother

How I Met Your Mother

I have to say I didn’t just on the HIMYM bandwagon from the beginning, it just didn’t seem like the kind of show that would interest me, but when I actually sat down and watched a few episodes I was hooked. The humor is right up my alley, clever but sometimes stupid as well. Barney is a classic character, loveable despite his obvious personality flaws. I just wish they would hurry up and tell us how he met your mother!

8. Breaking Bad

Breaking Bad

Now this is one show I really didn’t care for at the beginning, it was something that was much hyped but I never “got” it. That was until a friend sat me down and forced me to watch a few episodes back to back, and while the main character still grates on me a bit with his erratic behaviour and sometimes insane attitude, the show as a whole I find compelling. A show I will continue to watch.

7. The Mentalist

The Mentalist

Ok, so this show may seem out-of-place in this list and on this website, but hey we all have our guilty pleasures. I just love this show, Patrick Jane cracks me up, I love tuning in every week to see how he is gonna pull something out of his ass in order to solve the mystery. The rivalry between Patrick and Red John is a really strong storyline as well and I can’t wait until they finally meet face to face. If you haven’t already give this show a chance.

6. Sons of Anarchy

Sons of Anarchy

A show about bikies in a small town, protecting it from drugs and other bad guys? Seems a bit dull. It’s not. Sons of Anarchy is obviously one of my favourite shows, it has great acting, action, storylines, characters that you actually care about. It also has those characters that you absolutely hate, and sometimes only tune in to see them get whats coming to them. Every great show needs a few of them!

5. Burn Notice

Burn Notice

Yes it can be a bit corny at times, but I love Michael Westen, he along with Sam and Fiona make up my favourite trio on tv. I find myself sitting down in front of the TV with a big stupid grin on my face every time I watch Burn Notice, it’s just that kind of show. Sexy, fun, smart, its got it all!

4. Community

Community

Oh Community, please don’t get cancelled. I know it’s returning after a long hiatus but whenever a show gets taken off, it’s usually not a good sign for its future, which is a shame, because the gang at Greendale are just to funny to be cancelled. This show is so up to date and clever its impossible not to like it. Especially the paintball episodes, they are pure gold, the pop culture references crack me up. So here’s to hoping they get a few more seasons out of Community.

3. The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead

It’s hard to pick a top 3, but this show had to be in it. The Walking Dead is one of the best shows to come on over the past few years, based on a comic book with a TV show budget, you might not think you would get top quality, but you would be wrong. The show is top-notch, the zombie make up and effects are great, the show is gory and sad and triumphant all at the same time, you will smile, laugh, maybe even cry sometimes, it’s just that good.

2. Supernatural

Supernatural

Ah, the brother Winchester. I’ve followed Supernatual since the beginning and since that first episode its been one of my favourite shows and it just seems to get stronger with age. The characters interact so well and you actually care what happens to the brothers and their family, when Bobby died I almost teared up! I really hope this show keeps going for a long time if it keeps getting stronger the way it has over the past few seasons.

1. Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones

Yes, Game of Thrones, how could I go past you as my number 1? I know its only been on for one season but Game of Thrones is just so far above every other show in every way it has to be number 1. The production values, acting, costumes, music, acting, it’s all top-tier. It brings one of my favourite book series to life in a way I didn’t think was possible. With season 2 set to premiere in a few weeks time, I can’t wait to get back into Westeros!

So that’s it, our first Top 10 list out of the way, leave a comment below and tell us what you thought, what I missed or what you want to see in our next list.

Tell Us What You Think!

