Game of Thrones – What Is Dead, May Never Die Review

There are a few things in Game of Thrones that really irritate me, to the point of being annoyed for them simply being on the screen. Theon Greyjoy is number 1 on this list.

For those who haven’t read the book, you will know what I mean soon enough and from this episode probably have a pretty good idea anyway. With Theon heading back to Pyke in the last episode to try to gain his fathers fleet to back Robb Stark in his war with the Lannisters, he gets there and finds that he is not wanted, nor loved by his father. In his haste to win his fathers love, Theon completely betrays Robb, his friend for the past 10 years, the man to whom he pledged his loyalty to at the beginning of the war. Theon even contemplates telling Robb about his fathers plans to attack the North while he was away, but decides to burn the letter and betray his friend. I really dislike Theon…a lot.

Back in the Seven Kingdoms, we have Catelyn Stark arriving at Renly Baratheon’s camp in the middle of a tournament. It is here that was are introduced to the Maiden Brienne of Tarth, who defeats the Knight of Flowers in single combat to become part of Renly’s Kingsguard. I think they got the perfect actress to play Brienne, she is absolutely huge when standing next to Catelyn Stark and very man like, matching the description in the book, good casting here. Meanwhile, Renly is shown to find it impossible to pleasure his wife Margaery Tyrell, who comes clean that she knows that Renly is gay and sleeping with Ser Loras, however she doesn’t react the way you might think, telling Renly she will do what it takes for him to impregnate her and keep their enemies at bay.

I Don't Like His Beard!

Now, one of the things that I love about Game of Thrones is Tyrion Lannister, he is such a great character, smart and coniving, he hatches a plan to weed out betrayers in his Small Council, telling Grand Maester Pycelle, Littlefinger and Varys, three different stories to see who would tell Queen Cersei. A cunning plan, with Pycelle turning out to be the betrayer, I loved seeing this, Pycelle is a worse schemer than Varys and Littlefinger put together and it was nice to see him get what was coming to him, being thrown in the dungeons.

Cersei’s reaction to hearing that Tyrion was planning to marry off her daughter Myrcella to a Dornish prince was also great, I love seeing Cersei lose it, she is such an easy character to hate that when something bad happens to her, you can’t help but smile and smile I did. Myrcella’s marriage will play a part in the story in the coming series, however not too much in the short-term.

Though my smile was short-lived, as it always is when it comes to Game of Thrones, when we return to Arya and the rest of the gang bound for the wall. There was a heartwarming scene with Yoren and Arya which I thought was great, it gives us the background to where Arya got her habit of reciting names of who she wants to kill later on in the series. However the sweetness was short-lived, with Lannister troops descending on the band. Yoren is a real badass here, taking a crossbow to the neck at point-blank range, only to take it and kill a good amount of Lannister men before being skewered by spears and having his spine severed by their commanders sword. It was a sad moment, Yoren was a good character and I didn’t like to see him die.

The episode concluded with the Lannister men taking Arya, Gendry, Hot Pie and the rest of the band, bound for the wall, being rounded up for transport back to Harrenhal. With one of the boys taking an arrow to the leg, and killed by a Lannister soldier, Arya speaks up to say that he was Gendry, leading the soldiers to believe that they succeeded in killing Gendry.

Altogether I thought this was a great episode, the best of the season so far, it got my emotions going, with my hate for Theon and Cersei, my small glimmer of a smile for Tyrion and my sadness for the death of Yoren, it was a good spread all around. It makes the weeks wait between episodes all the harder.

9/10

Comments

  1. They can’t be that bad if you keep coming back for more! The show would be less without them 🙂

  2. Thank you for clarifying whats going on, I had been a bit confused to what is actually happening

  3. You did a great synopsis of this episode. I totally agree with all your character “likes and dislikes:”. I’ll check back with you for episode 4. Since I haven’t read the book, I like to watch the episodes twice for clarification on the characters and their motives. Thanks !!

  4. Strangely, I feel empathy for Theon so far on the TV show despite how flawed he is. Although by the end of book 2 he made me nauseous. On another note, I do like how the show explained how Arya began reciting the names of people she wants dead. My full thoughts on this episode are on my Game of Thrones blog. By the way, how long does it take you to write these reviews?

    • I can’t feel anything good for Theon, he is just a coward.
      I liked how they showed Arya getting that trick that Yoren showed her, seems like something that Martin would’ve come up with.
      Doesn’t take me long to review the episodes, half hour or less.

Tell Us What You Think!

